Facebook Twitter Instagram You Tube Pinterest LinkedIn RSS Podcasts Video Library Blog
 - Northwestern Memorial Hospital - Chicago

Lung/Bronchus Small Cell Cancer

Lung cancer is the uncontrolled growth of abnormal cells in the lung. Bronchus cancer is cancer in the tissue making up the respiratory system. There are two main types of lung cancer – non-small cell lung carcinoma and small cell lung carcinoma. SCLC is short for small cell lung carcinoma.

After an SCLC lung/bronchus cancer diagnosis, doctors perform exams and tests to determine the stage of the cancer. Those stages range from zero (carcinoma in situ) to four (cancer has spread to another organ). Stages one through three indicate the extent of the disease, how big the tumor is, and/or how cancer has spread to nearby lymph nodes.

Survival rate measures the percentage of patients with a specific type of cancer who are still alive after a certain period of time. In this case, the survival rate is measured as five-year survival.

Our lung and bronchus small cell cancer measures are: 

Please note: The National Cancer Database requires that reporting hospitals have at least 30 cases in a single stage of cancer to generate a survival report. During the five year period in question (1998 - 2001), we did not diagnose or treat enough stage 0, 1, 2 or 3 small cell lung/bronchus cancer cases to report our survival rates.

Last UpdateJuly 6, 2011

Questions & Comments

If you have a question or comment about our Quality Ratings, please complete our online questions & comments form and we will respond within two business days. If your concern requires immediate attention, please call 312-926-3112 so that a Patient Representative can assist you.