Facebook Twitter Instagram You Tube Pinterest LinkedIn RSS Podcasts Video Library Blog
 - Northwestern Memorial Hospital - Chicago

Patrick M. McCarthy, MD Receives 2008 Socrates Award from the Thoracic Surgery Residents Association

Subscribe to our RSS feed

January 28, 2008

Chicago -

Patrick M. McCarthy, MD receives 2008 Socrates Award


The Thoracic Surgery Residents Association (TSRA) honored Patrick M. McCarthy, MD with the 2008 Socrates Award.  The award was presented to Dr. McCarthy on January 28 during the Society of Thoracic Surgeons 44th Annual Meeting in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. 

The Socrates Award is an annual award given by the TSRA to an outstanding faculty member in cardiothoracic surgery in recognition of his or her commitment to resident education and mentorship. Each year, cardiothoracic surgery residents in North America are eligible to nominate a faculty member who has demonstrated a remarkable interest in resident training -- inside or outside of the operating room.

John M. Stulak, MD, vice-president of the TSRA and second year cardiovascular fellow at the Mayo clinic, notified Dr. McCarthy of his nomination, "...Dr. McCarthy you received a remarkable outpouring of nominations and support from all over the country - from both present trainees as well as past ones."

Dr. McCarthy is the co-director of the Bluhm Cardiovascular Institute, chief of cardiac surgery at Northwestern Memorial Hospital, and the Heller-Sacks Professor of Surgery at Northwestern University's Feinberg School of Medicine.

Founded in 1997, the mission of the TSRA is to represent the interests of all residents training in cardiothoracic surgery. To that end, this organization was started by residents and continues to be managed autonomously by residents who are still in training programs. All current residents in training in cardiothoracic surgery are automatically granted membership in the TSRA.

Last UpdateMay 18, 2011