Facebook Twitter Instagram You Tube Pinterest LinkedIn RSS Podcasts Video Library Blog
 - Northwestern Memorial Hospital - Chicago

Teepu Siddique, MD


This physician prefers to see new patients referred by another physician.Read important legal notice

Office Phone: 312-695-7950
Other Languages: Urdu
Office Hours:
  • Wednesday:8:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.
  • Thursday:1:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.

Clinical Interests

Myasthenia Gravis, Neuromuscular Disease, Neurogenetic Disorders, Motorneuron Disease, Muscular Dystrophy, Heredity Spastic Parapareses, Dysimmune Neuropathy, ALS, Spinocerbellar Ataxia, Primary Lateral Sclerosis

Education and Training

Medical Education:

Dow Medical College (Pakistan) 1973


Umdnj-University Hospital 1979


Hospital for Special Surgery 1980

National Institutes of Health 1981

Board Certification


Locations and Directions

675 N. St. Clair
Galter 20-100
Chicago, IL 60611 312-695-7950


Neurologist Dr. Teepu Siddique, Les Turner ALS Foundation/Herbert C. Wenske Foundation Professor at the Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, has devoted his career as a clinician-scientist to the study and treatment of neuromuscular diseases, especially amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), or Lou Gehrig's Disease. He has directed the Neuromuscular Disorders Program/Neurogenetics Laboratory and the Les Turner ALS Foundation Laboratory at Northwestern since 1991.

Dr. Siddique led an international team that was the first to identify genes responsible for familial (inherited) forms of ALS: the SOD1 gene in 1993 and the ALS2, or alsin, gene in 2001. His laboratory also developed the first successful genetic mouse model of ALS in 1994. In 2008, his lab verified the existence of an X chromosome-linked gene (X-ALS) that may be involved in both ALS and ALS/dementia.

For his seminal work in ALS neurogenetics, Dr. Siddique received the first Sheila Essey Award from the American Academy of Neurology. Other honors include the Hope Through Caring Award from the Les Turner ALS Foundation, the Third Annual Eleanor and Lou Gehrig Award from the Columbia University College of Physician and Surgeons, and the Forbes Norris Award from the International Alliance of ALS/MND (Motor Neurone Disease) Associations.


View the full disclosure of external professional relationships