Steps to avoid harm (Leapfrog Group)

The descriptions for this measure come from source:

“Patients should choose a hospital that has a high Leapfrog Safe Practices Score. This means the hospital has put in place procedures to reduce 8 common, preventable medical mistakes.”
The eight Safe Practice/Elements are listed below:

·         Leadership Structures and Systems
·         Culture Measurement for Performance
·         Teamwork Training and Skill Building
·         Identification and Mitigation of Risks and Hazards
·         Nursing Workforce
·         Medication Reconciliation
·         Hand Hygiene
·         Prevention of Aspiration and Ventilator Associated Pneumonia

About this measure
“The Leapfrog Safe Practices Score (SPS) measures hospitals’ progress on eight of the National Quality Forum Safe Practice areas. Each practice area is assigned an individual weight, which is factored into the overall score. Hospitals are then put into performance categories based on their relative progress out of the total number of possible points.”  Scores are reported as:
1 = Willing to Report
2 = Some Progress
3 = Substantial Progress
4 = Fully Meets Standards

 Note: In this measure, a higher number is better.

Most Recent Available Data (Leapfrog Points)
Northwestern Memorial 4
Leapfrog Goal Fully Meets Standards 4
Performance Trend (Leapfrog Points)
  2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013
Northwestern Memorial 4 4 4 4 4 4
Leapfrog Goal Fully Meets Standards 4 4 4 4 4 4
Source:Leapfrog Group,
Steps to Avoid Harm