Facebook Twitter Instagram You Tube Pinterest LinkedIn RSS Podcasts Video Library Blog
 - Northwestern Memorial Hospital - Chicago

Lung/Bronchus Non-Small Cell Cancer

Lung cancer is the uncontrolled growth of abnormal cells in the lung. Bronchus cancer is cancer in the tissue making up the respiratory system. There are two main types of lung cancer – non-small cell lung carcinoma and small cell lung carcinoma. NSCLC is short for non-small cell lung carcinoma. After a non-small cell lung/bronchus cancer diagnosis, doctors perform exams and tests to determine the stage of the cancer.

Those stages range from zero (carcinoma in situ) to four (cancer has spread to another organ). Stages one through three indicate the extent of the disease, how big the tumor is, and/or how cancer has spread to nearby lymph nodes.

Survival rate measures the percentage of patients with a specific type of cancer who are still alive after a certain period of time. In this case, the survival rate is measured as five-year survival.

Our non-small cell lung and bronchus cancer measures are: 

Note: The National Cancer Database requires that reporting hospitals have at least 30 cases in a single stage of cancer to generate a survival report. Stages not listed above had less than 30 cases during the reporting period.
Last UpdateDecember 19, 2012

Questions & Comments

If you have a question or comment about our Quality Ratings, please complete our online questions & comments form and we will respond within two business days. If your concern requires immediate attention, please call 312-926-3112 so that a Patient Representative can assist you.