Facebook Twitter Instagram You Tube Pinterest LinkedIn RSS Podcasts Video Library Blog
 - Northwestern Memorial Hospital - Chicago

Northwestern Memorial's Rob Christie Recognized as Grassroots Champion

Subscribe to our RSS feed

May 11, 2007

Chicago -

The American Hospital Association (AHA), in partnership with the Illinois Hospital Association (IHA), has awarded Rob Christie, vice president, government relations, Northwestern Memorial Hospital with its annual Partnership for Action Grassroots Champion Award.  As a 2007 Grassroots Champion, Christie is being recognized for his exceptional leadership in generating grassroots and community activity in support of a hospital’s mission.

The Partnership for Action Grassroots Champion Award was created to recognize those hospital leaders who most effectively educate elected officials on how major issues affect the vital role hospitals play in the community, who have done an exemplary job in broadening the base of community support for the hospital, and are tireless advocates for hospitals and their patients.

“Your leadership and dedication to promoting the mission of hospitals has added a strong voice on a local and national level,” said Rich Umbdenstock, president, American Hospital Association. “The compassion and hard work you have demonstrated has made a difference for your patients and your community and has earned you this special recognition.”

“Rob Christie is an outstanding grassroots hospital advocate not only for his own hospital, but for the hospital community in Illinois,” said IHA President Ken Robbins. “Rob has been on the front lines in many critical hospital advocacy campaigns – from medical liability reform to strengthening Medicare and Medicaid. He helps build strong relationships with our lawmakers, at the local, state and federal levels, and he consistently delivers a straightforward and compelling hospital message. In this past year he played a leading role in advocating for the Illinois hospital Medicaid assessment plan which will result in over a billion dollars in new Medicaid funding in 2006, 2007 and 2008.”

The award is presented annually to one individual from each state. Winners are chosen by the state association and recognized at a special Breakfast of Grassroots Champions at the AHA Annual Membership Meeting. Christie is one of 50 individuals honored this year.

Last UpdateMay 18, 2011